Skip to main content

The receipts

Debt

Every entry of this topic: the publisher, the document, and the page, table or section that holds the value, with a link and the date we last checked it.

By Updated

Share:XFacebook

All topics on the sources page

Federal accumulated deficit ("federal debt"), March 31, 2025

Actual

$1,266,484,000,000 ($1.3T)

Period
2025-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
1266484000000

Finance Canada's "federal debt": total liabilities minus all assets, financial and non-financial. It equals net debt minus non-financial assets such as buildings, equipment and land.

Federal accumulated deficit ("federal debt"), March 31, 2026 (Spring Economic Update estimate)

Estimate

$1,333,900,000,000 ($1.3T)

Period
2026-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
1333900000000

Finance Canada's "federal debt": total liabilities minus all assets, financial and non-financial. It equals net debt minus non-financial assets such as buildings, equipment and land. Finance Canada's estimate; the audited figure comes in the Annual Financial Report 2025-26.

Federal accumulated deficit, March 31, 2026 (preliminary, unaudited)

Preliminary

$1,322,004,000,000 ($1.3T)

Period
2026-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
1322004000000

Preliminary and unaudited ("have not been audited or reviewed by an external auditor"), before year-end adjustments; the audited result comes in the Annual Financial Report 2025-26.

  • Department of Finance Canada, The Fiscal Monitor, March 2026 (opens in a new tab)Table 7 Condensed statement of assets and liabilities, "Federal debt (accumulated deficit)", March 31, 2026 (millions of dollars)Published May 29, 2026. Accessed September 28, 2026.

Federal accumulated deficit ("federal debt"), March 31, 2027 (Spring Economic Update projection)

Forecast

$1,399,300,000,000 ($1.4T)

Period
2027-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
1399300000000

Finance Canada's "federal debt": total liabilities minus all assets, financial and non-financial. It equals net debt minus non-financial assets such as buildings, equipment and land.

Federal net debt, March 31, 2025

Actual

$1,393,600,000,000 ($1.4T)

Period
2025-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
1393600000000

Total liabilities minus financial assets. It does not subtract non-financial assets (buildings, equipment, land), so it is larger than the accumulated deficit.

Federal net debt, March 31, 2026 (Spring Economic Update estimate)

Estimate

$1,473,000,000,000 ($1.5T)

Period
2026-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
1473000000000

Total liabilities minus financial assets. It does not subtract non-financial assets (buildings, equipment, land), so it is larger than the accumulated deficit.

Federal net debt, March 31, 2026 (preliminary, unaudited)

Preliminary

$1,467,135,000,000 ($1.5T)

Period
2026-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
1467135000000

Preliminary and unaudited ("have not been audited or reviewed by an external auditor"), before year-end adjustments; the audited result comes in the Annual Financial Report 2025-26.

Federal net debt, March 31, 2027 (Spring Economic Update projection)

Forecast

$1,556,000,000,000 ($1.6T)

Period
2027-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
1556000000000

Total liabilities minus financial assets. It does not subtract non-financial assets (buildings, equipment, land), so it is larger than the accumulated deficit.

Federal total liabilities, March 31, 2009

Actual

$840,594,000,000 ($840.6B)

Period
2009-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
840594000000

The 2008-09 row, read from the same table as the ten-year series, so the 2008-09 ratio compares like for like.

Federal accumulated deficit ("federal debt"), March 31, 2009

Actual

$467,946,000,000 ($467.9B)

Period
2009-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
467946000000

Restated series. Used only to turn Finance Canada's 2008-09 ratio of the accumulated deficit to GDP into the ratio of total liabilities to GDP.

Federal total liabilities, March 31, 2026 (Spring Economic Update estimate)

Estimate

$2,329,000,000,000 ($2.3T)

Period
2026-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
2329000000000

Everything Ottawa owes: market debt (bonds and treasury bills), pensions and other future benefits owed to public servants and veterans, and accounts payable. Nothing is netted. Finance Canada's estimate; the audited figure comes in the Annual Financial Report 2025-26.

Federal total liabilities, March 31, 2027 (Spring Economic Update projection)

Forecast

$2,480,800,000,000 ($2.5T)

Period
2027-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
2480800000000

Everything Ottawa owes: market debt (bonds and treasury bills), pensions and other future benefits owed to public servants and veterans, and accounts payable. Nothing is netted. Finance Canada's projection.

Federal financial assets, March 31, 2026 (Spring Economic Update estimate)

Estimate

$856,000,000,000 ($856.0B)

Period
2026-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
856000000000

Cash, foreign exchange reserves, loans to Crown corporations and others, equity in Crown corporations, and taxes receivable. Net debt is total liabilities minus these.

Federal financial assets, March 31, 2027 (Spring Economic Update projection)

Forecast

$924,800,000,000 ($924.8B)

Period
2027-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
924800000000

Cash, foreign exchange reserves, loans to Crown corporations and others, equity in Crown corporations, and taxes receivable. Net debt is total liabilities minus these.

Federal interest-bearing debt, March 31, 2025

Actual

$1,869,300,000,000 ($1.9T)

Period
2025-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
1869300000000

Unmatured debt plus pensions and other employee future benefits and other liabilities.

Federal unmatured debt (carrying value), March 31, 2025

Actual

$1,485,900,000,000 ($1.5T)

Period
2025-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
1485900000000

Market debt plus capital lease and public-private partnership obligations, at carrying value. Market debt alone is listed separately (Spring Economic Update 2026, Table A3.3).

Federal market debt (bonds, treasury bills and foreign debt), March 31, 2025

Actual

$1,477,000,000,000 ($1.5T)

Period
2025-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
1477000000000

Government of Canada securities held by investors. Market debt grows faster than the accumulated deficit because Ottawa also borrows to lend to Crown corporations.

Federal market debt (bonds, treasury bills and foreign debt), March 31, 2026

Estimate

$1,611,000,000,000 ($1.6T)

Period
2026-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
1611000000000

Government of Canada securities held by investors. Market debt grows faster than the accumulated deficit because Ottawa also borrows to lend to Crown corporations.

Federal market debt (bonds, treasury bills and foreign debt), March 31, 2027

Forecast

$1,741,000,000,000 ($1.7T)

Period
2027-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
1741000000000

Government of Canada securities held by investors. Market debt grows faster than the accumulated deficit because Ottawa also borrows to lend to Crown corporations.

Federal accumulated deficit as a share of GDP, 2024-25

Actual

40.7%

Period
FY2024-25
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.407

Restated for later GDP revisions; the ratio first published in the Annual Financial Report 2024-25 is listed separately.

Department of Finance Canada on why net debt is its preferred measure

Actual
“net debt is the preferred measure as it better reflects a country's financial position by accounting for both what it owes and what it has set aside.”
Period
2025-11-07
Unit
Verbatim text

Finance Canada's own case, written about total government net debt in a comparison with the G7. It names net debt, not the accumulated deficit; the report presents the accumulated deficit as "federal debt".

Federal accumulated deficit as a share of GDP, 2024-25, as first published

Actual

41.2%

Period
FY2024-25
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.412

Before later GDP revisions; the restated ratio is listed separately.

Federal accumulated deficit as a share of GDP, 2008-09

Actual

28.2%

Period
FY2008-09
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.282

Same table and vintage as the 2024-25 ratio of 41.2% (Table 2), so the two compare like for like.

Parliamentary Budget Officer, September 2025: the federal debt-to-GDP ratio was projected to rise above this level over the medium term

Forecast

43.0%

Period
medium term (September 2025 outlook)
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.43

A threshold, shown as "above 43%". Superseded by the PBO's June 2026 outlook, listed separately.

Parliamentary Budget Officer, June 2026: federal debt-to-GDP ratio projected for 2030-31

Forecast

42.5%

Period
FY2030-31
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.425

Parliamentary Budget Officer on the long-term sustainability of Budget 2025

Actual
“based on Finance Canada projections, current fiscal policy in Budget 2025 ‘would be deemed sustainable over the long term.’”
Period
2025-12-17
Unit
Verbatim text

The PBO's test rests on Finance Canada's own long-term projections. The same note says Budget 2025 leaves "limited fiscal room to reduce revenues or increase program spending".

Parliamentary Budget Officer on the long-term projection in the Spring Economic Update 2026

Actual
“The SEU also includes a long-term projection, with the debt-to-GDP ratio declining to 25.1 per cent by 2060-61. Based on this path, current policy would be assessed as sustainable under the IMF framework, with a modest negative fiscal gap.”
Period
2026-05-04
Unit
Verbatim text

"This path" is Finance Canada's own long-term projection in the Spring Economic Update 2026. The PBO adds that the projections "do not include all the anticipated spending related to defence."

Parliamentary Budget Officer on repeated upward revisions to federal spending

Actual
“repeated upward revisions to spending in subsequent planning cycles, and as a consequence to the debt-to-GDP track, can erode the credibility of fiscal plans and weaken confidence in the fiscal framework and raise concerns about long-term fiscal sustainability.”
Period
2026-05-04
Unit
Verbatim text

Federal accumulated deficit ("federal debt") at March 31 of each year

SeriesActual

Latest: $1,266,484,000,000 ($1.3T) (2025-03-31)

Period
2015-03-31 to 2025-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Federal accumulated deficit ("federal debt") at March 31 of each year, by period
PeriodValue
2015-03-31$628.9B
2016-03-31$634.4B
2017-03-31$651.5B
2018-03-31$671.3B
2019-03-31$685.5B
2020-03-31$721.4B
2021-03-31$1.0T
2022-03-31$1.1T
2023-03-31$1.2T
2024-03-31$1.2T
2025-03-31$1.3T

Restated series: earlier years reflect later accounting changes, so a value can differ from the one first published in that year's Annual Financial Report.

Federal net debt at March 31 of each year

SeriesActual

Latest: $1,393,586,000,000 ($1.4T) (2025-03-31)

Period
2015-03-31 to 2025-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Federal net debt at March 31 of each year, by period
PeriodValue
2015-03-31$700.7B
2016-03-31$708.6B
2017-03-31$729.3B
2018-03-31$752.9B
2019-03-31$772.1B
2020-03-31$812.9B
2021-03-31$1.1T
2022-03-31$1.2T
2023-03-31$1.3T
2024-03-31$1.4T
2025-03-31$1.4T

Total liabilities minus financial assets. Restated series: earlier years reflect later accounting changes, so a value can differ from the one first published in that year's Annual Financial Report. The 2024-25 value ties to the Annual Financial Report's net debt at March 31, 2025.

Federal total liabilities at March 31 of each year

SeriesActual

Latest: $2,182,336,000,000 ($2.2T) (2025-03-31)

Period
2015-03-31 to 2025-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Federal total liabilities at March 31 of each year, by period
PeriodValue
2015-03-31$1.1T
2016-03-31$1.1T
2017-03-31$1.1T
2018-03-31$1.2T
2019-03-31$1.2T
2020-03-31$1.3T
2021-03-31$1.7T
2022-03-31$1.9T
2023-03-31$1.9T
2024-03-31$2.1T
2025-03-31$2.2T

Everything Ottawa owes, with nothing netted. Restated series: earlier years reflect later accounting changes. The 2024-25 value ties to the Annual Financial Report's total liabilities at March 31, 2025, and total liabilities minus financial assets ties to the net debt series row by row.

Federal total liabilities projected for 2027-28, Spring Economic Update 2026

Forecast

$2,646,900,000,000 ($2.6T)

Period
2028-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
2646900000000

Everything Ottawa owes at March 31, 2028, with no assets netted off.

Federal total liabilities projected for 2027-28, 2022 Fall Economic Statement

Forecast

$2,052,300,000,000 ($2.1T)

Period
2028-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
2052300000000

Everything Ottawa owes at March 31, 2028, with no assets netted off, as the first Finance edition to project the year forecast it.

Federal total liabilities projected for 2027-28, Budget 2025

Forecast

$2,644,600,000,000 ($2.6T)

Period
2028-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
2644600000000

Everything Ottawa owes at March 31, 2028, with no assets netted off.

Federal debt (accumulated deficit) projected for 2027-28, Spring Economic Update 2026

Forecast

$1,462,400,000,000 ($1.5T)

Period
2028-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
1462400000000

Finance Canada's "federal debt": total liabilities minus all assets, financial and non-financial.

Parliamentary Budget Officer: federal total liabilities projected for 2027-28

Forecast

$2,619,600,000,000 ($2.6T)

Period
2028-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
2619600000000

Parliamentary Budget Officer, June 2026: federal debt-to-GDP ratio projected for 2027-28

Forecast

42.4%

Period
FY2027-28
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.424

The PBO's calendar-2027 GDP is in its Appendix A.

Federal total liabilities projected for 2028-29, Spring Economic Update 2026

Forecast

$2,804,900,000,000 ($2.8T)

Period
2029-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
2804900000000

Everything Ottawa owes, with no assets netted off.

Federal total liabilities projected for 2029-30, Spring Economic Update 2026

Forecast

$2,930,800,000,000 ($2.9T)

Period
2030-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
2930800000000

Everything Ottawa owes, with no assets netted off.

Federal total liabilities projected for 2030-31, Spring Economic Update 2026

Forecast

$3,046,700,000,000 ($3.0T)

Period
2031-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
3046700000000

Everything Ottawa owes, with no assets netted off.

Federal debt (accumulated deficit) projected for 2027-28, Budget 2025

Forecast

$1,476,000,000,000 ($1.5T)

Period
2028-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
1476000000000

Finance Canada's "federal debt": total liabilities minus all assets, financial and non-financial.

Growth of the federal accumulated deficit per second, 2026-27

DerivedForecast

$2,074

Period
FY2026-27
Unit
Canadian dollars per second
Stored value
2073.8203957382

Formula: (accumulated deficit at March 31, 2027 − accumulated deficit at March 31, 2026) ÷ 31,536,000 seconds in 2026-27

Inputs

Spreads the Spring Economic Update 2026 projection for the year evenly over every second.

Projected increase in the federal accumulated deficit, 2026-27

DerivedForecast

$65,400,000,000 ($65.4B)

Period
FY2026-27
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
65400000000

Formula: accumulated deficit at March 31, 2027 − accumulated deficit at March 31, 2026

Inputs

Growth of federal net debt per second, 2026-27

DerivedForecast

$2,632

Period
FY2026-27
Unit
Canadian dollars per second
Stored value
2631.91273465246

Formula: (net debt at March 31, 2027 − net debt at March 31, 2026) ÷ 31,536,000 seconds in 2026-27

Inputs

Spreads the Spring Economic Update 2026 projection for the year evenly over every second.

Federal accumulated deficit per Canadian, March 31, 2026

DerivedEstimate

$31,974

Period
2026-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
31974.1587241441

Formula: accumulated deficit at March 31, 2026 ÷ population of Canada on April 1, 2026

Inputs

Federal net debt per Canadian, March 31, 2026

DerivedEstimate

$35,308

Period
2026-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
35308.4457610497

Formula: net debt at March 31, 2026 ÷ population of Canada on April 1, 2026

Inputs

Growth of federal total liabilities per second, 2026-27

DerivedForecast

$4,814

Period
FY2026-27
Unit
Canadian dollars per second
Stored value
4813.54642313546

Formula: (total liabilities at March 31, 2027 − total liabilities at March 31, 2026) ÷ 31,536,000 seconds in 2026-27

Inputs

Spreads the Spring Economic Update 2026 projection for the year evenly over every second.

Projected increase in federal total liabilities, 2026-27

DerivedForecast

$151,800,000,000 ($151.8B)

Period
FY2026-27
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
151800000000

Formula: total liabilities at March 31, 2027 − total liabilities at March 31, 2026

Inputs

Federal total liabilities per Canadian, March 31, 2026

DerivedEstimate

$55,827

Period
2026-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
55827.1352189306

Formula: total liabilities at March 31, 2026 ÷ population of Canada on April 1, 2026

Inputs

Federal accumulated deficit per Canadian, March 31, 2025

DerivedEstimate

$30,521

Period
2025-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
30521.0462684182

Formula: audited accumulated deficit at March 31, 2025 ÷ population of Canada on April 1, 2025

Inputs

Federal accumulated deficit per individual tax return filed, March 31, 2026

DerivedEstimate

$42,260

Period
2026-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
42259.9596117837

Formula: accumulated deficit at March 31, 2026 ÷ individual income tax returns filed for 2024 (latest tax year)

Inputs

Increase in the federal accumulated deficit, March 31, 2015 to March 31, 2025

DerivedActual

$637,574,000,000 ($637.6B)

Period
2015-03-31 to 2025-03-31
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
637574000000

Formula: accumulated deficit at March 31, 2025 − accumulated deficit at March 31, 2015

Inputs

Growth of the federal accumulated deficit, March 31, 2015 to March 31, 2025

DerivedActual

101.4%

Period
2015-03-31 to 2025-03-31
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
1.01377621599275

Formula: (accumulated deficit at March 31, 2025 ÷ accumulated deficit at March 31, 2015) − 1

Inputs

Projected increase in federal net debt, 2026-27

DerivedForecast

$83,000,000,000 ($83.0B)

Period
FY2026-27
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
83000000000

Formula: net debt at March 31, 2027 − net debt at March 31, 2026

Inputs

Net debt rises by the deficit plus what Ottawa spends on roads, buildings and other non-financial assets beyond their depreciation.

Rise in the federal debt-to-GDP ratio (accumulated deficit), 2008-09 to 2024-25

DerivedActual

46.1%

Period
FY2008-09 to FY2024-25
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.460992907801419

Formula: accumulated deficit as a share of GDP, 2024-25 ÷ the same ratio, 2008-09 − 1 (Fiscal Reference Tables 2025, Table 2)

Inputs

What Ottawa owes (total liabilities) as a share of GDP, 2024-25, on revised GDP

DerivedActual

70.1%

Period
FY2024-25
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.701320152485148

Formula: Finance Canada's restated 2024-25 ratio of the accumulated deficit to GDP (Spring Economic Update 2026, revised GDP) × (total liabilities ÷ accumulated deficit at March 31, 2025); total liabilities ÷ the same revised GDP

Inputs

Beside Ottawa's restated ratio. The series of the same name by year is on the GDP of the November 2025 Fiscal Reference Tables.

What Ottawa owes (total liabilities) as a share of GDP, 2008-09

DerivedActual

50.7%

Period
FY2008-09
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.506570219640728

Formula: Finance Canada's 2008-09 ratio of the accumulated deficit to GDP × (total liabilities ÷ accumulated deficit at March 31, 2009); the same GDP, so total liabilities ÷ GDP

Inputs

Finance rounds its ratio to a tenth of a point, so this carries about 0.1 point of rounding.

Rise in what Ottawa owes (total liabilities) as a share of GDP, 2008-09 to 2024-25

DerivedActual

40.1%

Period
FY2008-09 to FY2024-25
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.401464145491038

Formula: total liabilities as a share of GDP, 2024-25 ÷ the same ratio, 2008-09 − 1

Inputs

What Ottawa owes (total liabilities) as a share of GDP, 2027-28, 2022 Fall Economic Statement

DerivedForecast

61.4%

Period
FY2027-28
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.614093357271095

Formula: total liabilities at the fiscal year end (Annex 1, Table A1.5) ÷ nominal GDP of the calendar year in which the fiscal year begins (Table A1.1), both from the 2022 Fall Economic Statement. The convention is our inference: Finance does not state it, but it reproduces Finance's printed ratios.

Inputs

What Ottawa owes (total liabilities) as a share of GDP, 2027-28, Budget 2025

DerivedForecast

77.6%

Period
FY2027-28
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.775770020533881

Formula: total liabilities at the fiscal year end (Annex 1, Table A1.7) ÷ nominal GDP of the calendar year in which the fiscal year begins (Table A1.1), both from Budget 2025. The convention is our inference: Finance does not state it, but it reproduces Finance's printed ratios.

Inputs

What Ottawa owes (total liabilities) as a share of GDP, 2028-29, Budget 2025

DerivedForecast

78.6%

Period
FY2028-29
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.7862341325811

Formula: total liabilities at the fiscal year end (Annex 1, Table A1.7) ÷ nominal GDP of the calendar year in which the fiscal year begins (Table A1.1), both from Budget 2025. The convention is our inference: Finance does not state it, but it reproduces Finance's printed ratios.

Inputs

What Ottawa owes (total liabilities) as a share of GDP, 2029-30, Budget 2025

DerivedForecast

79.0%

Period
FY2029-30
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.789500813890396

Formula: total liabilities at the fiscal year end (Annex 1, Table A1.7) ÷ nominal GDP of the calendar year in which the fiscal year begins (Table A1.1), both from Budget 2025. The convention is our inference: Finance does not state it, but it reproduces Finance's printed ratios.

Inputs

What Ottawa owes (total liabilities) as a share of GDP, 2027-28, Spring Economic Update 2026

DerivedForecast

75.7%

Period
FY2027-28
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.757122425629291

Formula: total liabilities at the fiscal year end (Annex 1, Table A1.7) ÷ nominal GDP of the calendar year in which the fiscal year begins (Table A1.1), both from the Spring Economic Update 2026. The convention is our inference: Finance does not state it, but it reproduces Finance's printed ratios.

Inputs

What Ottawa owes (total liabilities) as a share of GDP, 2028-29, Spring Economic Update 2026

DerivedForecast

77.3%

Period
FY2028-29
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.772699724517906

Formula: total liabilities at the fiscal year end (Annex 1, Table A1.7) ÷ nominal GDP of the calendar year in which the fiscal year begins (Table A1.1), both from the Spring Economic Update 2026. The convention is our inference: Finance does not state it, but it reproduces Finance's printed ratios.

Inputs

What Ottawa owes (total liabilities) as a share of GDP, 2029-30, Spring Economic Update 2026

DerivedForecast

77.7%

Period
FY2029-30
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.776988335100742

Formula: total liabilities at the fiscal year end (Annex 1, Table A1.7) ÷ nominal GDP of the calendar year in which the fiscal year begins (Table A1.1), both from the Spring Economic Update 2026. The convention is our inference: Finance does not state it, but it reproduces Finance's printed ratios.

Inputs

What Ottawa owes (total liabilities) as a share of GDP, 2030-31, Spring Economic Update 2026

DerivedForecast

77.8%

Period
FY2030-31
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.777814654071994

Formula: total liabilities at the fiscal year end (Annex 1, Table A1.7) ÷ nominal GDP of the calendar year in which the fiscal year begins (Table A1.1), both from the Spring Economic Update 2026. The convention is our inference: Finance does not state it, but it reproduces Finance's printed ratios.

Inputs

What Ottawa owes (total liabilities) as a share of GDP, 2027-28, Budget 2025 on the GDP the Spring Economic Update restated

DerivedForecast

76.4%

Period
FY2027-28
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.764114417798324

Formula: Budget 2025 total liabilities (Table A1.7) ÷ Budget 2025's calendar-2027 nominal GDP as restated in the Spring Economic Update 2026 (its Table A1.1 row for Budget 2025): the same dollars on the larger economy. The convention is our inference: Finance does not state it, but it reproduces Finance's printed ratios.

Inputs

Federal debt-to-GDP ratio, 2027-28, Budget 2025 on the GDP the Spring Economic Update restated

DerivedForecast

42.6%

Period
FY2027-28
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.426466339208321

Formula: Budget 2025 federal debt (Table A1.7) ÷ Budget 2025's calendar-2027 nominal GDP as restated in the Spring Economic Update 2026: Ottawa's own ratio with the denominator the later edition uses.

Inputs

Share of the fall in Ottawa's 2027-28 debt ratio, Budget 2025 to the Spring Economic Update 2026, that comes from the higher GDP

DerivedForecast

73.5%

Period
FY2027-28
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.734730029111818

Formula: Our arithmetic. The fall in Ottawa's 2027-28 ratio between Budget 2025 and the Spring Economic Update 2026 is (Budget 2025 federal debt ÷ Budget 2025 GDP) − (update federal debt ÷ update GDP). The part from GDP alone is (Budget 2025 federal debt ÷ Budget 2025 GDP) − (Budget 2025 federal debt ÷ update GDP). This figure is the part from GDP ÷ the whole fall; the rest is the lower federal debt.

Inputs

What Ottawa owes (total liabilities) as a share of GDP, 2027-28, Parliamentary Budget Officer

DerivedForecast

75.1%

Period
FY2027-28
Unit
Ratio, shown as a percentage
Stored value
0.751462994836489

Formula: PBO total liabilities (Appendix G) ÷ PBO nominal GDP, calendar 2027 (Appendix A): the same convention as Finance's, which reproduces the PBO's printed federal debt ratio.

Inputs

Assets Finance Canada nets off total liabilities to reach its federal debt, 2027-28, Budget 2025

DerivedForecast

$1,168,600,000,000 ($1.2T)

Period
FY2027-28
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
1168600000000

Formula: total liabilities − federal debt (Annex 1, Table A1.7): the financial and non-financial assets Finance nets off.

Inputs

Assets Finance Canada nets off total liabilities to reach its federal debt, 2027-28, Spring Economic Update 2026

DerivedForecast

$1,184,500,000,000 ($1.2T)

Period
FY2027-28
Unit
Canadian dollars
Stored value
1184500000000

Formula: total liabilities − federal debt (Annex 1, Table A1.7): the financial and non-financial assets Finance nets off.

Inputs

What changed

  • UpdateEach entry shows its source and our notes in plain words.

  • UpdateA shorter opening line and plainer chart notes.

  • UpdateAdded a search box; each topic now loads its entries when opened.

All changes
  • UpdateMade each topic fold closed and long lists scroll.

  • UpdateRedesigned the source list with two charts.

  • PublishedPublished the list of sources.